Best Friends Strut Your Mutt NYC 2010

Best Friends Trainer Pat Whitacre and me

What could possibly get me out of bed on a Sunday morning at 6:30 am? Only the love of dogs! Sunday September 26th I participated in Best Friends Animal Society’s Strut Your Mutt NYC 2010 to raise money to help homeless pets. A crappy deli cup of coffee, a stale croissant, and a train ride led me to the Hudson River Park pier near 42nd Street. A group of dog lovers had descended on the pier. People milled about crowded booths registering and some did doggie yoga with an instructor near the stage. I joined up with the Best Friends dog pack to walk with dog trainer Pat Whitacre and friends (Sherry Woodard had missed her flight oops!) I raised nearly $800 dollars (thanks donors!) and the event raised approximately $130,000 for network organizations that will help bring New York City to a time of No More Homeless Pets. In addition to meeting many animal loving participants, I also met the Rescue Ink guys and Caroline Manzo from the  Real Housewives of New Jersey who were all very nice.

Rescue Ink and me

Real Housewives of NJ Caroline Manzo and me

In a few weeks I’m headed out to Best Friends Animal Sanctuary in Kanab, Utah to work for two weeks. Despite the crazy logistics of my life in Brooklyn at the moment, I can’t wait to get out there and put my dog training skills to use to help this great organization!

Leave a comment

Filed under dog training, Dogs

Leave a Reply

